All about Commission for Air Quality Management in NCR [2022]

Share your love

In this article, we will learn about the Commission for Air quality management. We will learn about the Composition, the Powers, the Selection Procedure of Members, the Penalties that the commission can impose, and to whom we can appeal against the commission decision. But before we start let’s have a look at the official definition of Air Pollution

What is air pollution official definition?

Pure air is a mixture of numerous gases such as oxygen, nitrogen, argon, carbon dioxide, and small amount of other gases in a fixed proportion.
If the composition of pure air changes by any means, it is called as air pollution, which have adverse effects on human health, environment, and other living creatures.
According to The Air (Prevention and Control of Pollution) Act, 1981, “air pollution is the presence of any solid, liquid, or gaseous substance in the atmosphere in such concentration as may be or tend to be injurious to human beings or other living creatures or plants or property or environment”.

Now let’s dive into the article

Commission for Air Quality Management (CAQM)

  • A new Commission for Air Quality Management Bill is passed by Lok Sabha on 5th August 2021 to establish the Commission for Air Quality Management for National Capital Region and Adjoining Areas.
  • It enables setting up of a Commission for Air Quality Management for enhanced co-ordination, research, identification, and resolution of problems
  • The Bill concerns for the air quality in the National Capital Region (NCR) and adjoining areas.

What are the Adjoining Areas in the bill?

  • States of Haryana, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Uttar Pradesh adjoining the NCR, where any source of pollution will adversely impact the air quality in the NCR are declared as  Adjoining Areas under the bill.  
  • The Bill also dissolves the Environment Pollution Prevention and Control Authority which was established in the National Capital Region in 1998.  

Key Features of the Bill

Now lets have a look at the most important features of the bill one by one

Composition of Commission for Air Quality Management

The Commission for Air Quality Management  will consist of:

  • (i) a Chairperson.
  • (ii) Member-secretary and Chief Coordinating Officer -an officer of the rank of a Joint Secretary.
  • (iii) A full-time member – a currently serving or former Joint Secretary from the central government.
  • (iv) Three independent technical members – with expertise in field of air pollution.
  • (v) Three members from NGO’s.  

The Chairperson and members of the Commission will serve for a period of three years or till the age of seventy years, whichever is earlier.  

The Commission for Air Quality Management will also include few Ex-Officio members which are as follow:


The Commission is required to form these three sub-committees:

  • Monitoring and identification,- headed by by a member
  • Safeguarding and enforcement headed by the Chairperson
  • Research and development headed by a technical member

Selection Committee

  • There will be a selection committee formed by the central government, it will recommend the appointments of members of the Commission.  
  • This Committee will be chaired by the Union Minister of the MoEFCC.
  • Other Members of the Committee will include Ministers in charge:
    • (i) Commerce and Industry,
    • (ii) Road Transport and Highways,
    • (iii) Science and Technology,
    • (iv) the Cabinet Secretary.

Functions of the Commission

Functions of the Commission include:

  • (i) Coordinating actions taken by state governments of Delhi, Haryana, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Uttar Pradesh in respect of the new act.
  • (ii) Planning and executing the plans, to control and prevent air pollution in the National Capital Region (NCR).
  • (iii) Providing a framework that identifies the air pollutants.
  • (iv) Conducting research and development by networking along with technical institutions.
  • (v) Creating and Training a special workforce to cope with the issues related to air pollution.
  • (vi) Creating action plans such as increasing plantation and addressing stubble burning.

Powers of the Commission

Powers of the Commission include:

  • Controling activities that influences the air quality in NCR.
  • Investigating and conducting research related to environmental pollution which impacts air quality.
  • Creating codes and guidelines to control and prevent air pollution.
  • Will issue directions regarding inspections and regulation, that will be binding on the concerned person or authority.  
  • The Commission may impose and collect compensation from farmers that are causing pollution by stubble burning.  It will be prescribed by the central government. 
    The Commission will be the sole authority in respect of jurisdiction over matters defined in the Bill.  
  • In case of conflict, the decisions of the Commission will prevail over that of respective state governments, the Central Pollution Control Board (CPCB), state PCBs, and state-level statutory bodies.

Penalties Imposed by Commission

  • Contravention of orders and directions of the Commission will be punishable with imprisonment of up to five years, or fine of up to one crore rupees, or both.  
  • All appeals against the Commission for Air Quality Management orders will be heard by the National Green Tribunal.

Official Website Delhi Pollution Control Committee

Share your love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *